Food for the Soul

Everyone has their favorite comfort food. Whether you just broke up with your boyfriend/girlfriend, when you want to curl up on the sofa on a rainy day and watch a movie, or when you’re stressed out from all the work you have to do, everyone has a particular food that they gravitate to when they find themselves in these situations. For me, if I can eat pasta every single day, 24/7, I would have no problems doing so. I completely and utterly enjoy eating pasta. It brightens my mood, uplifts my spirits and is truly THE BEST comfort food for my soul. While I love pasta in general, I tend to constantly go for the Penne a La Vodka and Bolognese options on a restaurant menu. Pasta puts a smile on my face every time. I think it’s important to nourish your soul with things that make you happy. Of course, I would not eat pasta every single day, 24/7 – it simply wouldn’t be good for my hips. So, I can say that you should enjoy the foods you love in moderation.

I try not to eat an entire plate of JUST pasta alone because if you’re anything like me, you’ll tend to crash afterwards. What I prefer to do instead is eat a side salad prior to my meal to improve digestion and it encourages me to eat less. In addition, a healthy side salad can increase your fiber intake. I personally enjoy adding avocado slices to my salad; not only are they tasty, but they are categorized as good fats which can lower bad cholesterol levels. Adding protein to a pasta dish such as a grilled a chicken breast or vegetables like spinach and beans can add nutritional value to the meal. What is your comfort food that nourishes your soul?

Leave a Reply

