Dogs Are a Woman’s Best Friend

I love my dog Snow to the moon and back. He is the light of my whole universe. Snow is an all-white, 4 year old American Eskimo. I met him for the first time when my brother and his girlfriend brought him home from Niagara Falls. I fell in love instantly. He is the most playful, protective, needy, and scared dog you will ever meet. My mom initially had problems adjusting when he first moved in because she is used to having her house in a particular manner. If you are familiar with American Eskimos, then you’ll know that they shed like crazy. This drove my mom mad. She was reluctant to open her heart to him for the first few months. However, within a short period of time, he worked his way into her heart. I never thought I could love and care for an animal as much as I do Snow. When I wake up in the morning to go to work, he runs toward me in such an impatient way because he wants to roam around in the backyard for the few minutes that I have before I have to leave for work. Every morning is the same- he always wags his tail thinking I will take him to work with me, and he always cries when I walk through the door without him. When I return from work, there he is at the front window wagging his tail and barking and all of a sudden he turns into a ball of energy wanting to play. He knows when I’m ready to go for a walk, he knows when its dinner time, he knows when it’s bedtime, but most importantly he knows when there’s something wrong. I have found myself talking to him as if he were a little boy, telling him about my day and asking him questions. He is part of my family now and I can’t imagine my life without him. He brings the most joy to my heart. Snow is incredibly loyal to my family and will do anything to protect us. Dogs want to love and be loved, which is in line with what we all want. Snow teaches me how to love unconditionally every day.

Leave a Reply

